SCoR Talk


Monday, February 16, 2015

The ASRT Leadership Academy for Educators Award


The SCoR is calling for applications for the American Society of Radiologic Technologists (ASRT) Leadership Academy for Educators Award. 

A joint venture by the SCoR and ASRT, the award will provide funding for a UK delegate to attend the ASRT Leadership Academy on 22-25 July 2015.

The opportunity to attend the three-day residential programme, held in Albuquerque, New Mexico, is open to a member of the SCoR who is at or near the beginning of their career in radiography education, providing significant development and mentorship for those selected to participate. 

The ASRT will kindly provide accommodation and all course materials for the successful applicant while the SCoR will pay travel costs up to a maximum of £650.

Last year, Amy Taylor, a therapeutic radiographer at Sheffield Hallam University, successfully applied for a place on the course.

Applicants must submit a 1000 word statement explaining:

  • Why they feel they would benefit from the award
  • How they would disseminate their experiences and learning locally and nationally
  • What they might hope to do as a result of the experience

Applicants must also:

  • Be a member of the SCoR
  • Have a minimum of one year and a maximum of five years’ experience of education (this may include clinical education as well as education institutions)
  • Hold a formal contractual arrangement with a higher education institute
  • Provide a supporting statement from your head of department/academic professional lead
  • Hold or demonstrate evidence that you will complete an MSc or PGD award in a subject relevant to radiography

The successful applicant will be asked to write a report on the experience suitable for inclusion in Synergy News and for consideration by the SCoR Research Group. 

To register interest in the programme, applicants should submit their written statement and supporting statement, together with name and membership number, to Liz Robinson

Applications must be received by Friday 27 February 2015. Previous successful applicants may not apply.

Other stories in this issue…

Content tools

Printer-friendly version