Doc menu

2.0 Current Educational Pathways

2.1 The College of Radiographers identified the following educational requirements for ultrasound imaging practice in the UK (The Scope of Practice in Medical Ultrasound, 2009): 

  • 2.1.1  Postgraduate certificate (PGC), postgraduate diploma (PGD), MSc accredited by the Consortium for the Accreditation of Sonographic Education (CASE). (The College of Radiographers is a member organisation of CASE). 

    Entry criteria to the above are an initial healthcare practitioner related qualification (the norm at present); or a relevant first degree, or equivalent. Because they build on a relevant initial award, they prepare individuals for specialist or advanced level ultrasound practice rather than entry-level practice.

  • 2.1.2 Competency based qualifications Examples include Accredited Vascular Scientist of the Society of Vascular Technology of Great Britain and Ireland (SVT) and accreditation in adult, paediatric or community echocardiography as awarded by the British Society of Echocardiography (BSE).
  • 2.1.3 Diploma of Medical Ultrasound of the College of Radiographers (DMU) or Certificate of Medical Ultrasound of the College of Radiographers (CMU) (These were replaced by postgraduate qualifications in the early 1990s but remain recognised awards).

2.2 Of the above, the CASE accredited PgC/PgD/MSc programme is the predominant route to qualified sonographer status and provides for the development of competent sonographers in broad, named fields (e.g. obstetrics and gynaecology, general medical ultrasound, musculoskeletal, etc) 
The competency based qualifications awarded by SVT and BSE accredit the individual for specific aspects of ultrasound practice.

Content tools

Accessibility controls

Text size