Radiography Awards 2023 winners announced

Sponsored by Philips, our awards ceremony will celebrate the best of the profession on 8 November 

Published: 02 November 2023 Awards

The Radiography Awards 2023 will be taking place on World Radiography Day (WRD) and will celebrate the outstanding professional achievements of our members. 

Taking place at the iconic 4 Hamilton Place venue in London’s Mayfair on Wednesday 8 November, the Radiography Awards celebrate the individuals, teams, representatives, and students from across the UK who have made an impact on radiography, from patient care to academic excellence.  

Sponsored by global leader in health technology Philips, the Radiography Awards will feature a welcome address from Philips’ lead for community diagnostics and director of the independent sector, Jeevan Gunaratnam, who will also be handing out the awards. 

Paul Novak of the TUC, and president of UKIO Dr Emma Hyde will also be appearing as guest speakers, and will be handing out the Representative of the Year and the Radiography Professional of the Year awards respectively. 

The regional winners of Radiography Professional of the Year awards, the Representative of the Year awards, and the Team of the Year awards have already been announced, with winners officially receiving their awards during the ceremony, alongside the Student of the Year winners in the diagnostic and therapeutic categories. 

Winner of the Patient Choice Awards, and the overall winners of the Radiography Professional, Representative, and Team awards will all be announced at the live event. 

Representative of the Year (Winners)  

  • Gemma Bourne | Therapeutic Radiographer, East Suffolk and North Essex NHS Foundation Trust (Eastern Region)
  • David Morris | King's College Hospital (London Region)
  • Zoe Hunt | Senior Lecturer in Medical Ultrasound, Birmingham City university (Midlands Region)
  • Claudia Hemissi-Liu | Senior Radiographer, Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust (North West Region)
  • Eloise Collings | Radiology South Tyneside and Sunderland NHS FT Trust (Northern Region)
  • Joanne Clayton | CT Radiographer, The Ulster Hospital (Northern Ireland)
  • Kelly Gun | Caithness General Hospital (Scotland)
  • Maggie Fricker | Senior Radiographer, Southampton General Hospital (South East Region)
  • Lillie Marshall | Radiographer, Torbay Hospital (South West Region)
  • Alexandra Hatfield | Senior Diagnostic Radiographer, Bronglais Hospital (Wales)
  • Christopher Rigby | CT and GI Radiographer, Airedale NHS Foundation Trust (Yorkshire and North Trent Region)

Radiography Professional of the Year (Winners) 

  • Amy Bellamy | Advanced Practitioner Radiographer, James Cook University Hospital (Northern Region)
  • Lucy Buckley | Therapeutic Radiographer, The Christie NHS Foundation Trust (North West Region)
  • Leah Cox | Lead Review Radiographer (Wales) 
  • Rejosh George | MRI Superintendent, London North West University Healthcare NHS Trust (South East Region)
  • Sarah Gower | Lead Superintendent Radiographer, King's College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust (London Region)
  • Florence Hammond | Advanced Practice Radiographer (GI), Basildon and Thurrock University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (Eastern Region)
  • Emily McElwaine | Practice Educator, Somerset Foundation Trust (South West Region)
  • Joanna McNamara | Senior Lecturer Radiotherapy and Oncology, Sheffield Hallam University (Yorkshire and North Trent Region)
  • Sean O Conaire | Imaging Service Manager and Sites Co-Ordinator, Belfast Health and Social Care Trust (Northern Ireland)
  • Eva Starkey Lecturer, Robert Gordon University | (Scotland)

Team of the Year (Winners) 

  • Diagnostic and Therapeutic Radiography Course Team | University of Suffolk (Eastern Region)
  • Reporting Radiographer Team | Barking, Havering and Redbridge University Hospitals NHS Trust (London Region)
  • Ultrasound Team | Birmingham City University (Midlands Region)
  • MRI Department | Wirral University Teaching Hospital (North West Region) 
  • Breast Screening Team | Royal Victoria Infirmary (Northern Region) 
  • Cath Lab and Fluoroscopy Radiographers | Altnagelvin Area Hospital (Northern Ireland)
  • Cardiac CT Radiographers | NHS Western Isles (Scotland)
  • Therapeutic Radiographers | Portsmouth Hospitals University NHS Trust (South East Region)
  • PET/CT Department | Cobalt Imaging (South West)
  • Radiology Reporting Team | Cwm Taf Morgannwg University Health Board (Wales)
  • Interventional Radiology and Cardiology | Mid Yorkshire NHS Trust (Yorkshire and North Trent)

Student Radiographers of the Year (Winners) 

  • Raymond Amoako | Radiotherapy and Oncology Student, Sheffield Hallam University
  • Samantha Pilkington | Diagnostic Radiography Student, University of the West of England

About Philips 

Philips is a leading health technology company, focused on improving health and enabling better outcomes, from prevention, to diagnosis, treatment and home care. 

Headquartered in the Netherlands, the company is a leader in diagnostic image-guided therapy, patient monitoring and health informatics, as well as consumer health and home care, using advanced technology as well as clinical and consumer insights to deliver integrated solutions. 

About Jeevan Gunaratnam 

Jeevan Gunaratnam is lead for community diagnostics and director of the independent sector with Philips. He has experience working in both public and independent healthcare sectors, has led technology and commercial functions across a number of international OEMS, and has also served on the board of an acute NHS trust as senior independent director. 

About Dr Emma Hyde 

Dr Emma Hyde is an associate professor in learning, teaching and pedagogy at the University of Derby, and is a qualified HCPC Diagnostic Radiographer. She is also president of the UKIO congress for 2024 and 2025, is a member of the College of Radiographers Research Advisory Group, and a mentor for the Formal Radiography Research Mentorship scheme run by the College of Radiographers. 

About Paul Novak 

Paul Novak is general secretary of the TUC (Trades Union Congress) and has been an active trade unionist and campaigner throughout his working life, having first joined a union as a part-time worker in Asda, aged 16. He was one of the first people to take part in the TUC’s Organising Academy in 1998, and joined the TUC’s staff in 2000 as regional secretary for the north of England. Mr Novak has been general secretary since December 2022.