Charlotte Beardmore and Professor Heidi Probst recognised in New Year Honours list

SoR director for professional policy, Charlotte Beardmore, has been recognised for extraordinary achievement and service to radiography

Published: 02 January 2024 Awards

The New Year Honours List for 2024, which recognises people who have made significant achievements in public life, has this year recognised the SoR’s executive director of professional policy.

Charlotte Beardmore has been recognised for services to radiography, receiving a Commander of the British Empire (CBE) for her work during her career.

Ms Beardmore has explained how surprised she was to receive the letter from the Cabinet Office in early December, recommending her to His Majesty the King for the honour of Commander of the Order of the British Empire.

'A great honour'

Ms. Beardmore said: “I was shocked but also pleased that the government was recognising our wonderful profession of radiography and the Allied Health Professions. It is a great honour to accept this award on behalf of all the radiography profession. Our members work tirelessly with great professionalism to provide outstanding imaging and radiotherapy services to millions of patients in the UK, and I thank them for this. 

“I would also like to acknowledge the support of all my colleagues at the Society and College of Radiographers, those whom I have worked with during my career, and for the support of friends and family and not least my husband, whose enormous personal sacrifice has made it possible for me to continue to work hard for our profession both in the UK and overseas.”

Also receiving recognition for service to radiography this year is researcher, lecturer and director of the Health Research Institute at Sheffield Hallam University, Professor Heidi Probst.

Professor Probst is an SoR member who has worked closely with Ms Beardmore throughout their respective careers.

Well-deserved award

Ms Beardmore said: “Heidi has led such amazing research to support improving outcomes for patients, and contributed so much time and energy in supporting the development of fellow radiographers. I would like to pass on my congratulations for all her fantastic work and for receiving a well-deserved award!”

More than 1,200 recipients have been awarded for their exceptional achievements, including for being dedicated community champions, role models in sport, pioneers in the arts, passionate health workers, and supporters of young people.

Prime Minister Rishi Sunak said: “The New Year Honours List recognises the exceptional achievements of people across the country and those who have shown the highest commitment to selflessness and compassion. To all honourees, you are the pride of this country and an inspiration to us all.”

Deputy Prime Minister Oliver Dowden said: “This year’s New Year Honours List celebrates the most selfless, compassionate people in the UK. I send them all my warmest congratulations for what they have achieved.

“Our historic honours system exists to recognise these people and shine a light on their heroic contributions and achievements. I hope that the inspiring stories from across the whole of the UK encourage more people to nominate others for an honour in future.”

(Picture: Eva Photography)