'Outstanding commitment and professionalism’ recognised at Radiography Awards 2023

The Radiography Awards, this year held on World Radiography Day, celebrate excellence in the profession and in patient care

Published: 10 November 2023 Awards

The overall winners for the Radiography Awards 2023 have been revealed at a ceremony in London. 

Coinciding with World Radiography Day on 8 November the Radiography Awards, organised and promoted by the Society of Radiographers, were held at the Royal Aeronautical Society in Mayfair. 

Following an introductory drinks reception, the various categories and the radiographers nominated for them were announced.

Celebrating the victors

The illustrious ceremony was marked with laughter and celebration of the important work radiographers perform to keep the NHS running.

Jeevan Gutnaram, head of government affairs at Philips UK&I – the Radiography Awards' sponsor – told attendees that radiographers “sit at the heart of the patient journey”, adding “we all know the heart is also the symbol of love.”

He added: “What radiographers provide is not a support service – you are at the heart of almost every patient pathway, often with multiple interactions. Whether it was during the pandemic, outpatient or inpatient activity, in-hospital or in the community – radiographers are the unsung heroes of our modern healthcare system.

“It is no coincidence that many of the posters we have seen celebrating today reference the word ‘hero’.....but there’s more to the role than wearing a cape. Radiographers embody compassion. Patients are often anxious during diagnostic testing or treatment and it is the humanity and empathy of radiographers that helps get patients through their procedure."

The winners of the Radiography Awards 2023 were:

  • Overall Team of the Year: NHS Western Isles Cardiac CT Team, nominee for Scotland
  • Overall Radiography Professional of the Year: Lucy Buckley, nominee for the North West
  • Overall Accredited SoR Representative of the Year: Zoe Hunt, nominee for the Midlands
  • Diagnostic Imaging Student Radiographer of the Year: Samantha Pilkington
  • Therapeutic Student Radiographer of the Year: Raymond Amoako Bempah

For the Patient’s Choice Awards, selected by the Patient Advisory Group, the winners were:

  • Individual Patient Choice Award: Sean O’Conaire, nominee for Northern Ireland
  • Team Patient Choice Award: NHS Western Isles Cardiac CT Team, nominee for Scotland

The biographies of all the winners, including each regional winner, can be found here.

'Outstanding commitment and professionalism'

Richard Evans, CEO of the SoR, said: “It is inspiring to meet the winners of our Radiography Awards and to hear first hand about the great work they are all doing. The winners encompassed a very wide range of work, representation  and specialism and ranged from students through to highly experienced members of the profession in practice, management and education. 

“The awards are extra-special because they are made following a nomination from a close colleague. Recognition of great radiography practice by fellow radiographic practitioners. We all know how very pressurised it is in clinical and educational environments at the moment. This knowledge made it especially encouraging to be able to celebrate the outstanding commitment and professionalism of SOR members.”

(Pictures: Eva Photography)