2018 Radiography Awards

Published: 29 November 2018 Ezine

Cally Palmer, NHS England's National Cancer Director, presenting the 2018 Radiography Awards, thanked the Society for the "great opportunity to promote the work of diagnostic and therapeutic radiographers at the forefront of the workforce on World Radiography Day."

Speaking at the award's ceremony to the assembled guests, Cally said, "All winners and teams being honoured today have demonstrated outstanding patient care, a passion for innovation and improvement and the ability to adapt and excel in a changing workforce."

Held at the Royal College of Physicians, on the edge of Regent's Park, London the awards are the radiography profession's annual opportunity to celebrate the best of the best. Cally presented the prizes, along with Jason Barron, sales manager of the award's sponsor, Carestream Health.

"Radiographers have always been at the centre of evolving technologies in equipment and clinical practice," Cally said.

"In my national role we are emphasising the importance of early and fast detection of cancer to meet our ambition to save more lives.

"This is a precious workforce and we need to recognise and support the development of advanced skills including reporting radiographers in all modalities and advanced specialist radiographers in fluoroscopy.

"In short, optimising the huge strength and skill you all bring to the very best patient care," Cally continued.

"My message is one of deep appreciation for all that you do. Please keep that skill, passion, flexibility and technical excellence at the forefront.

Cally Palmer finished her address with a quote from a patient who expressed her appreciation to the radiographers who looked after her: Diagnosis through treatment was faultless and quick. I always felt like an individual and not just a number. Professional, efficient, caring, friendly. I felt valued and safe.

The 2018 Radiography Overall Award Winners

Dr Helen McNair
UK and London Radiographer of the Year
Lead Research Radiographer, The Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust

Humayra Mogra
UK Diagnostic Student Radiographer of the Year

University of Derby

Lily Aston
UK Therapeutic Radiography Student of the Year
Birmingham City University

Post-Mortem Imaging, University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust
UK and Midlands Radiography Team of the Year

Radiographer of the Year Region/Country Award Winners

Helen Gregory

Consultant Macmillan Therapeutic Radiographer in Palliative Oncology, Peterborough City Hospital

David Hill

Chief Radiographer, Worcestershire Acute Hospitals Trust

Ben Stenberg

Consultant Sonographer, Freeman Hospital

Grainne Forsythe
Northern Ireland

Lead Reporting Radiographer, Daisyhill Hospital

Sean Ralph
North West

Therapeutic Radiographer, The Clatterbridge Cancer Centre NHS Foundation Trust

Karen Moore

Lung Consultant Radiographer, Beatson West of Scotland Cancer Centre

Christine Richards
South East

Radiotherapy Services Manager, Maidstone Hospital

Vivien Gibbs
South West

Head of Department, University of the West of England

Helen Hughes

Head of Quality and Governance (Radiology), Wrexham Maelor Hospital

Nicholas Barlow
Yorkshire and North Trent

Advanced Practitioner, Pinderfields Hospital

Team of the Year Region/Country Award Winners

Diagnostics Centre, The Holly Private Hospital

General Imaging Radiographers, St Bartholomew’s Hospital

Cardiac Radiographers, Sunderland Royal Hospital

Northern Ireland
Anomaly Sonographer Team, Southern Health and Social Care Trust

North West
CT Team, Warrington & Halton Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Queen Elizabeth University Hospital Student Liaison Team

South East
Radiology Team, Western Sussex Hospitals

South West
Radiotherapy Team at Bristol Haematology and Oncology Centre

Yorkshire and North Trent Joint Winners
Newly Qualified Radiographers, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Clinical Radiology, Rotherham Foundation Trust