Advancing Healthcare Awards – 25 January entry deadline

Published: 15 January 2016 Ezine

The deadline for entries to the Advancing Healthcare Awards 2016 is fast approaching – you only have until 5pm on Monday 25 January to submit entries.

Now in their 10th year, a special celebration is planned at the awards ceremony on 15 April, which will be hosted by the science writer and broadcaster, Vivienne Parry.

Last year radiographers scooped five awards. 

Tracey Ellis, a consultant practitioner and Rachel Shaw, an advanced therapy radiographer, both from Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, were the winners of two awards.

The first was the Welsh Government’s Prudently Advancing Practice award. The pair were commended for introducing supplementary non-medical prescribing by radiographers, and a system for cancer patients to be reviewed by a specialist radiographer in a dedicated review clinic.

The second of their awards was the Chief Allied Health Professions Officer’s Spotlight award for clinical leadership. This is given to a team which has demonstrated a number of attributes in their journey to deliver and improve patient-centred care.

Michelle Hughes, a Macmillan patient information and support radiographer, and Victoria Sykes, a team leader, both from Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust, were also honoured.

They were highly commended in the IPEM award for Patients as Partners in Science, for their work in helping patients to have a more thorough understanding of radiotherapy.

Paul McCullough, Imaging Services Manager at InHealth MRI Centre, received a Rising Star award and was commended for being ‘an intelligent and conscientious MRI radiographer’ and ‘deserving of the recognition as a rising star within healthcare’.

And last, but by no means least, Grainne Forsyth, a lead reporting radiographer and Julie McBride, a reporting radiographer from Southern Health and Social Care Trust, were finalists in the Northern Ireland award for Maximising Resources for Success.

The categories open to radiographers this year are:

  • The Welsh Government Prudently Advancing Practice Award

  • The IPEM Award for Patients as Partners in Science

  • Unite the Union Award for Working Together

  • Award for Outstanding Achievement by a Support Worker or Technician Working Alongside an AHP

  • Chamberlain Dunn Learning Rising Star Award

  • The Chief Allied Health Professions' Officer’s Award for Entrepreneurship

  • Public Health England Award for Contributions to Public Health

  • Northern Ireland Award for Maximising Resources for Success

  • Scottish Government’s Award for Improving Quality: Measuring and Demonstrating Impact

  • The Macmillan Award for Leadership and Innovation in Cancer Rehabilitation

"The contribution made by AHPs to health and social care is often overlooked and this is the chance to put the record straight"; commented Alison Dunn, the organiser.

Entering online is fast, easy and we are always here to offer help and advice if guidance is needed about which category to enter.

Click here to download an information sheet.

Click here to see the categories in detail and to enter.