CAHPO Awards 2019 - new ‘research impact’ category launched this year

Published: 15 February 2019 Ezine

The Council for Allied Health Professions Research CAHPR and the National Institute of Health Research NIHR are partnering a new Chief Allied Health Professions Officer Award category for AHP Research Impact. Nominations for this and all other award categories are now open.

CAHPR encourages researchers to nominate a peer, or themselves, for the ‘Research Impact’ award. This is an important opportunity to showcase AHP research and the impact it can make on patient care.

The organisers say: “We are delighted to see this opportunity for AHP researchers to receive recognition for their personal contribution to exceptional care delivery and development.”

Now in their third year, the CAHPO awards recognise and celebrate AHPS who have made an outstanding contribution to improving health, care and wellbeing for patients and communities.

Categories include:

  • AHP Leader of the Year
  • AHP Student of the Year 
  • AHP Public Health Champion 
  • AHP Quality Improvement 
  • AHP Workforce 
  • AHP Digital Practice 
  • AHP Clinical Focus: Cancer 
  • NICE into Action 
  • AHP Research Impact  
  • AHP of the Year

Following the launch of the NHS Long Term Plan, the awards provide an opportunity to profile where AHPs are already leading and supporting priorities for the NHS over the next 10 years.

The awards are open to AHPs, students and support workers working in publicly funded services in England. Nominations can be made by individuals themselves, and by managers and leaders in respect of individual clinicians or teams.

Previous winners include Dr Nick Woznitza, clinical academic reporting radiographer at Homerton University Hospital and senior lecturer at Canterbury Christ Church University, who was awarded CAHPO Practice Innovator 2017 and voted the overall winner for that year.

The deadline for submission is 10 May 2019. Awards will be presented at a ceremony on 17 July.

Further information is available via the NHS England website.