Congratulations to Doctoral Fellowship awardees!

Published: 22 June 2017 Ezine

Simon Goldsworthy from Taunton & Somerset NHS Foundation Trust and Amy Taylor from Sheffield Hallam University are the winners of this year’s College of Radiographers Doctoral Fellowship grant.

Amy was awarded £23,789 for her project titled: Exploring compassion and compassionate behaviours in cancer care: A mixed methods study.

The project will aim to:

  • generate a shared healthcare definition of compassion within the context of radiotherapy,
  • identify how compassion is conceptualised and displayed within a radiotherapy healthcare context
  • and develop a theoretical model of compassion to optimise understanding and aid teaching and    development in healthcare pedagogy.

Simon, meanwhile, was awarded £24,621 for his research project looking at developing and testing a comfort intervention for cancer patients receiving radiotherapy.

The project will aim to create interventions for patients undergoing long radiotherapy treatments, taking in feedback from both patients and radiographers.

Amy and Simon were both present at this year’s UKRC conference to meet with Dr Rachel Harris, the SCoR’s Professional and Education Manager.

Rachel commented, “Congratulations to both Simon and Amy for their outstanding applications, they are both worthy winners and we look forward with great interest to see the outcome of their research projects.

“I urge other SCoR members who are interested in research to apply for the Doctoral Fellowship grants, they provide a unique opportunity to carry out a project which will help to further the body of knowledge in our profession.

“Visit for more information.”