NHS parliamentary awards celebrate local health and care heroes

Published: 19 March 2019 Ezine

NHS staff, carers and volunteers who go above and beyond the call of duty are being celebrated by the NHS parliamentary awards for their hard work, innovative ideas and ‘unwavering efforts to put patients first’.

MPs are asking for nominations of ‘outstanding individuals’ in local areas to be a part of the 2019 awards.

Ruth May, chief nursing officer for England, said, “I would encourage all those who have seen or received outstanding care first hand, to send nominations to their MP and give our local NHS staff the national recognition they deserve.”

There are 10 categories, including a Lifetime Achievement award, to honour those who have devoted their life or career to making the NHS better, both for patients and those who work within it.

The categories are:

  • The Excellence in Healthcare award
  • The Excellence in Mental Health Care award
  • The Excellence in Urgent and Emergency Care award
  • The Excellence in Primary Care award
  • The Future NHS award
  • The Health Equalities award
  • The Care and Compassion award
  • The Volunteer of the Year
  • The Wellbeing at Work award
  • The Lifetime Achievement award

NHS national medical director, Professor Stephen Powis, said, “The NHS Long Term Plan set out how the health service will expand and improve care for patients over the coming years, but none of these ambitions will be possible without the skill and dedication of the 1.3 million staff who work for the NHS.

“We want to celebrate with them as part of the NHS Parliamentary Award 2019.”

If you know an individual, team or organisation that have innovated, impressed and made a real difference, download the information pack and submit a nomination by 26 April.

All those shortlisted for excellence will be invited to an award ceremony in parliament on 10 July 2019 to celebrate.