Radiographer of the Year winners announced

Published: 20 October 2016 Ezine

The UK, regional and country winners of the Radiographer of the Year awards have been announced.

Congratulations go to:

  • Eastern Region - Marilyn O'Connell, Assistant Practitioner Breast Imaging, The Queen Elizabeth Hospital
  • London Region – Patricia McCutcheon, Senior Neuroradiographer, St Georges Hospital
  • Midlands Region - Emma Hallam, Information and Support Radiographer, Nottingham City Hospital
  • Northern Ireland - Geraldine McCafferty, Trust Lead Radiographer, Antrim Area Hospital
  • North West Region – Tracey Ellis, Macmillan Consultant Radiographer (Uro-Oncology), Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • South East Region - Lorraine Harris, Senior Radiographer, Jarvis Breast Centre
  • South West Region - Lorraine James, Supt Radiographer, InHealth at Bristol Nuffield Hospital
  • Yorkshire and North Trent Region - Emma 'Jane' Hall, Macmillan Information and Support Radiographer, Lincoln County Hospital
  • Wales - Marie Hatfield, Lead Practitioner in Ultrasound, Bronglais Hospital

The overall UK Radiographer of the Year is Jane Hall from Yorkshire and North Trent.

Jane, who has been a radiographer for 25 years, was nominated for her tireless work to introduce new services to help patients and their families cope with radiotherapy and the side effects of treatment.

She was also praised for the way she has offered unstinting support before, during and after treatment – even donating her time off to organise open days for staff and members of the public, to explain the radiotherapy process.

Jane said: “I feel very pleased to have been nominated for this award and feel very privileged to have been chosen, not only as the Yorkshire and North Trent region Radiographer of the Year, but as overall UK winner.

"It is quite overwhelming and I still can’t quite believe it – a ‘once in a lifetime’ honour.

“I am especially looking forward to going to London for the awards ceremony, and am proud to be representing the dedicated radiographers in our region.”

All winners will collect their award at the annual prize giving ceremony taking place at the House of Commons on 8 November.

The SoR Radiography Team of the Year Awards are generously sponsored by industry partner Carestream.