UK Students, Radiographer and Team of the Year honoured at awards ceremony

Published: 23 November 2015 Ezine

The UK Diagnostic and Therapeutic Student Radiographers of the Year were in attendance at a ceremony to celebrate their success at the House of Commons this month.

Curtis Parker-Milnes from Sheffield Hallam University picked up the therapeutic award, marking the beginning of a hectic few days, as he also officially graduated the following week.

“I knew my university had nominated me for the award, then through the post I got the letter saying I had won it, so my family was very excited and I was very excited as well. It’s all been building up to today,” he said.

“When I had found out I had been nominated by the university that was nice, but when I got the letter saying I had won I was blown away.”

The winner of the diagnostic award was Ruth Avery from UWE in Bristol. Ruth described the happy moment she found out she had won the award.

“I got a letter in the post in September. We’d just been away for the weekend, my husband opened the letter and read it out and I thought he was making it up!

“I just couldn’t believe it to be honest, it’s really nice to be put forward, I felt quite proud of that, but then I put it at the back of my mind because I didn’t think I was going to win.”

Paul Killoran, a diagnostic radiographer from North Middlesex University Hospital, picked up the Radiographer of the Year prize after being nominated by colleagues for his dedication over a distinguished 28 year career. 

The nomination came as a surprise to Paul, who only recently found out he had won the award. “I found out a few weeks ago. I got an email saying I had won the London award, then you are put forward for the national award, which I found out I had also won. I’m now hoping to go for the European and World awards too!” he joked. 

The UK Team of the Year prize went to the Hysterosalpingogram team from the Craigavon Area Hospital in Northern Ireland. Audrey Mitchell, Janet Eagle and Helena Kinkaid were in attendance to pick up the award, which recognised the team’s outstanding skill and dedication. 

“It is overwhelming and it’s surreal, we can’t believe it,” said Helena.

“Everybody in the department knows about the award and they are over the moon.”

“Coming from Northern Ireland and as radiographers we put ourselves down and say it’s just part of our job, so to be recognised for something like this is brilliant.”

In her introductory remarks, Sheila Hassan, president of the Society of Radiographers, emphasised the importance of the awards in recognising the outstanding work done by radiographers around the country.

“These awards are about people and and their achievements. What makes them special is that the nominations are made by radiographers for radiographers.

“We can be proud of our profession, that despite challenging times within our health service year on year, we continue to hear stories of inspiration,” she said.

Sheila introduced the winners of the regional awards, who were presented with their certificates by guest of honour Samantha Jones, director of the New Care Models Programme at NHS England.

Samantha praised the fantastic work done by all of the winners. She said: “This is a moment to celebrate some amazing individuals who are day in, day out doing fantastic things.

“I’ve heard comments about people being patient focused, supporting their team members, being creative and designing the future, so what else would I want to do than come and celebrate those individuals and recognise what they do.”

The full list of winners are below. The pictures at the bottom of this page correspond with the list, running from left to right (i.e. top left is Ruth Avery, top right is Curtis Parker-Milnes) 

UK Diagnostic Student Radiographer of the Year - Ruth Avery

UK Therapeutic Student Radiographer of the Year - Curtis Parker-Milnes

London and UK Radiographer of the Year - Paul Killoran

Midlands Radiographer of the Year - Tracey Clegg

Northern Radiographer of the Year - Peter Coles

Northern Ireland Radiographer of the Year - Jennifer McKinstry

North West Radiographer of the Year - Victoria Hughes

Scotland Radiographer of the Year - Barbara Nugent

South East Radiographer of the Year - Christine Richards

Wales Radiographer of the Year - Kim Brown

UK and Northern Ireland Radiography Team of the Year - Southern Trust Hystero Team, Craigavon Area Hospital

Eastern Radiography Team of the Year - CTC Team from Peterborough City Hospital

London Radiography Team of the Year - International Association of Forensic Radiographers

Midlands Radiography Team of the Year - Plain Film Team, University Hospitals of Leicester

North West Radiography Team of the Year - Line Team from Manchester Royal Infirmary

Scotland Radiography Team of the Year - Scottish Lithotriptor Centre, Western General Hospital

South East Radiography Team of the Year - Radiotherapy Treatment Department, Maidstone Hospital

South West Radiography Team of the Year - After Glow radiotherapy team from Pool Hospital

Wales Radiography Team of the Year - Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging Service, Heath Hospital

Yorkshire and North Trent Radiography Team of the Year - Hysterosalpingography Team from Royal Hallamshire Hospital